Social Media is one of those things that you can get carried away with. Perhaps you said the wrong things, not realizing who would see it, or maybe you got fed up with people trolling you or sending you horrible messages.
Whatever the reason you are considering deleting your twitter account, we have set out some simple instructions including a video that helps explain how.
Just a word of warning though, to prevent total social catastrophe you may want to leave a parting tweet explaining you are leaving, and maybe even leaving a forwarding email just in case someone needs to contact you.
Video Instructions on how to Delete Twitter
We have put all the above steps in a video for a clearer view on how to delete your Twitter Account (however for commentary you should refer to the step by step guide below). You will see that it takes just a few moments to deactivate your twitter account:
How to Delete Twitter your Account Step by Step Guide
In case you are unable to watch the video above, or you want to read our commentary, check out this step by step guide below:
Step 1: Log into Twitter
The first step you need to take is to log in to twitter. You do this by going to twitter.com. You should see the screen below. If you are already logged in proceed to step 2.
Step 2: Click “Settings”
The next step is to access the account Settings. You will see a cogwheel at the top right of your screen. Click this, and a drop down menu appears. You can then click on the Settings option.
Step 3: Click “Deactivate my account”
Before deleting your account, if you will be creating a new account directly afterwards you will not be able to use the same email or username, unless you change these on your existing account prior to deletion.
If you are sure you wish to delete your account, click on the red “Deactivate my account” link at the bottom of the page.
Step 4: Verify that you want to delete Twitter Account
You need to confirm that you wish to delete your twitter account. You should read the notice carefully, as it makes a few good points:
1. Your data will be retained for 30 days before being permanently deleted. You can reactivate your account by simply logging back in.
2. You don’t need to deactivate your account to change your username or Twitter url, as these can be changed via the settings screen.
3. Whilst your account will be removed from twitter immediately, some content may still be viewable for a few days. Due to how search engines work, your content may be viewable on search engines for some time after deletion.
Step 5: Do not log back in to your account
This is probably the one point that trips people up when deleting their twitter account. You can reactivate your account for up to 30 days after deletion. Some people will try to log back in to see if it has been deleted, and therefore triggering its resurrection. Rest assured, that after 30 days your twitter account is gone permanently, never to be seen again.